Home   Sport   Article

North East team set for Scottish Boys golf championship

By Kyle Ritchie

Register for free to read more of the latest local news. It's easy and will only take a moment.

Click here to sign up to our free newsletters!

Forrester Park Golf Club is preparing to host this year’s Scottish Boys’ Area Team Championship event, which is set to take place on Sunday.

The championship event will see competing areas, represented by four players each, battle it out over 36 holes with the tournament consisting of a combination of morning foursomes and afternoon singles matches before the winning area is crowned.

Last year the North East team were the competing area to lift the trophy at the tournament, which was hosted at Gleddoch Golf Club, with the Niagra Cup awarded to Fife’s Alex North as the leading individual in the championship event.

The North East team won last year's competition.
The North East team won last year's competition.

With the exception of Argyll and Bute all of the other areas will be fielding teams for this year’s championship event at Forrester Park Golf Club.

Some familiar faces as well as trophy winners are present in the teams, including players like Finlay Galloway (St Andrews representing Fife), who won the 2022 Scottish Boys’ U16 Championship, while Koby Buchan (Cruden Bay representing North East) has recently won the Junior Tour Arbroath in July.

Buchan’s teammate Scott Spark (Newmachar representing North East), alongside Aidan Lawson and Jake Johnston (Bruntsfield and Royal Burgess Golfing Society representing Lothians) and Brodie Cunningham (Bothwell Castle representing Lanarkshire) have all recently been called up for international duty, representing Scotland at the 2023 Home Internationals at Lindrick, England earlier this season.

The team and players competing in the 2023 Championship are as follows:

Angus: Finlay Bonnar, Finlay Elrick, Finlay Hazelwood, Reece Kerrigan.

Ayrshire: Ryan Kennedy, Scott Newman, Findlay Watt, Connor Wills.

Borders: Cameron Brydon, Gregor Brydon, Lyle Gillie, K Martin.

Clackmannanshire: Liam Brown, Jack Foley, Glen Macdonald, Ryan Thompson.

Dumbartonshire: Fergus Alan, Chris Clark, Stewart Forrest, Sam Somerville.

Fife: Tayio Ezaki, Ewan Farquhar, Finlay Galloway, Jamie McDonald.

Glasgow: Thomas Dunn, Bobby Gray, John Hamilton, Joseph Lynch.

Lanarkshire: Michael Coulter, Brodie Cunningham, Joseph Kelly, Lewis Russell.

Lothians: Jake Johnston, Kai Laing, Aidan Lawson, James Wood.

Perth and Kinross: Nicholas Bradley, Robbie Hepburn, Joe Ponton, Kieran Selby.

North: Fraser Brown, Scott Brown, Lewis Cameron, Alex Innes.

North East: OIi Blackadder, Callum Bruce, Koby Buchan, Scott Spark.

Renfrewshire: Ross Anderson, Stuart Brooksbank, Calum Clelland, Ethan Lang.

South: Ben Carmichael, Murray Patterson, Adam Scott, Chris Wilson.

Stirlingshire: Thomas Kelly, Kyle Hamilton, Luke McInulty, Cameron Russell.

Championship host venue, Forrester Park, is situated in 350 acres of Scottish parkland and is located centrally between the cities of Edinburgh, Glasgow and Perth.

The par-72 course featuring meandering burns, water features and USGA designed greens, offers a real test to golfers of all levels.

Visit here for tee-times and live scoring for the event on the tournament page.

Do you want to respond to this article? If so, click here to submit your thoughts and they may be published in print.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More