Home   Sport   Article

Moray Curling latest: Moray Province points competition ends with Owen Watson winning Heather Little Trophy

By Bill Jaffrey

Register for free to read more of the latest local news. It's easy and will only take a moment.

Click here to sign up to our free newsletters!

Moray Juniors were well represented on the podium in this week’s playing of the Moray Province points competition.

Curling action at the Moray Leisure Centre Ice Rink. Picture: Daniel Forsyth
Curling action at the Moray Leisure Centre Ice Rink. Picture: Daniel Forsyth

After nine rounds of specified individual curling shots, Owen Watson picked up the Heather Little Trophy with a clear two-point lead over the runner-up, Ardclach’s Neil Campbell.

Gwyn Edwards finished in third spot and thus was the night’s leading lady curler.

Watson became the first junior to win the competition and both he and Edwards are a credit to the Moray Junior Club and its dedicated coaches.

Meanwhile, on Division 2 league business, Alan Durno was a big winner over Darnaway’s Alan Douglas. Douglas picked up his consolation shot at the last end as the Fochabers’ team dominated the contest right from the off.

In Division 3, Janice Rankin’s Ladies retained their 100 per cent record as stand-in skip Julie Stewart steered her rink to a convincing 8-3 victory. They were leading 5-1 after four ends, opponent Helen Downey clawed back a couple of single shots before the ladies pulled away again to pocket both points.

Linda Hardie and Andrew Allardyce had a terrific scrap with the scoreboard showing exclusive counts of just single shots. The wily Allardyce had collected three of them before the Forres girls opened their own account and then just held on at the final end to pip Hardie by the odd shot in seven.

Jim Walls started like a train in his Division 4 game with John Key, winning the first five ends to lead 8-0. He then somewhat hit the buffers, losing a four as stand-in Gateway skip Cameron Smith brought his team back into the contest. It was too little too late though as Walls closed out the game with a last-end single and a 9-4 win.


Moray Province Curling League

Division 2

A. Durno (Fochabers) 11 A. Douglas (Darnaway) 1

Division 3

L. Hardie (Forres) 3 A. Allardyce (Elgin) 4

J. Rankin (Moray Firth Ladies) 8 H. Downey (Elgin) 3

Division 4

J. Walls (Buckie) 9 J. Key (Gateway Club) 4

Moray Province Points.

1: O. Watson (Moray Juniors) 33pts; 2 N. Campbell (Ardclach) 31; 3 G. Edwards (Moray Juniors) 28.

Do you want to respond to this article? If so, click here to submit your thoughts and they may be published in print.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More