Home   News   Article

You Decide: Candidates set to stand in Aberdeenshire Council elections

By David Porter

Easier access to your trusted, local news. Subscribe to a digital package and support local news publishing.

In Aberdeenshire a total of 135 candidates will be standing for the 70 seats that make up Aberdeenshire Council

Our interactive map shows the results of the last council elections which took place in 2017

Polling for the local government election takes place on Thursday, May 5, with the count taking place the following day at the P&J Live in Aberdeen where our reporting team will be live with the results as they are confirmed.

The currnet political make-up of Aberdeenshire Council
The currnet political make-up of Aberdeenshire Council

The candidates

Ward 1: Banff and District (Three elected)

Stewart Adams, Scottish Conservative and Unionist

Iain Cameron, Alba Party

John Cox, Independent

Sandy Leslie, Scottish Liberal Democrats.

James Low, Scottish Labour.

Glen Reynolds, SNP.

Mike Roy, Independent.

Neil Woodward, Scottish Greens.

Ward 2: Troup (Three elected)

Ian Bailey, Scottish Liberal Democrats.

Ross Cassie, SNP.

Mark Findlater, Scottish Conservatives.

Richard Menard, Scottish Conservatives.

Simon Scott, Scottish Greens.

Ward 3: Fraserburgh and District (Four elected)

James Adams, Scottish Conservative and Unionist.

Ann Bell, Scottish Liberal Democrats.

Paul Greenall, Independent.

Seamus Logan, SNP.

Doreen Mair, Independent.

John McColl, Scottish Family Party.

Brian Topping, Alba Party.

Ward 4: Central Buchan (Four elected)

Jamie Cole-Hamilton, Scottish Greens.

Charlotte Cross, Alba Party.

Geoff Crowson, SNP.

Arif Mahmood, Scottish Labour.

David Mair, SNP

Joanna Moore, Scottish Family Party.

Steve Owen, Scottish Conservative and Unionist.

Hannah Powell, Scottish Conservative and Unionist.

Anne Simpson, Scottish Liberal Democrats.

Norman Smith, Independent.

Ward 5: Peterhead North and Rattray (Four elected)

Dianne Beagrie, Independent

Sharon Bradford, Independent

Alan Buchan, Independent

Matthew James, Scottish Conservative and Unionist

Trish McPherson, Alba Party

Leeann McWhinnie, SNP

Iain Sutherland, Scottish Conservative and Unionist

Ward 6: Peterhead South and Cruden (Three elected)

George Hall, Scottish Conservative and Unionist

Neil Johnstone, Scottish Conservative and Unionist

Colin Simpson, Scottish Liberal Democrats

Stephen Smith, SNP

Ward 7: Turriff and District (Four elected)

Susan Dubois, SNP

Alastair Forsyth, SNP

Gordon Lang, Scottish Conservative and Unionist

Anne Stirling, Scottish Liberal Democrats

Iain Taylor, Scottish Conservative and Unionist

Kathryn Vincent, Scottish Greens

Ward 8: Mid-Formartine (Four elected)

Andrew Hassan, Scottish Liberal Democrats

Kenny Hutchison, SNP

Paul Johnston, Independent Jenny Nicol, SNP

Sheila Powell, Scottish Conservative and Unionist

Derek Ritchie, Scottish Conservative and Unionist

Ward 9: Ellon and District (Four elected)

John Crawley, Scottish Conservative and Unionist

Isobel Davidson, Scottish Liberal Democrats

Josh Gall, SNP

Mark Lappin, Scottish Labour

Louise McAllister, SNP

Gillian Owen, Scottish Conservative and Unionist

Craig Stewart, Scottish Greens

Ward 10: West Garioch

Will elect three to Aberdeenshire Council from eight candidates.

Sasha Brydon, Scottish Labour

Moray Grant, SNP

Sebastian Leslie, Independent

Sheena Lonchay, Independent

Anne Mansfield, Scottish Greens

Elaine Mitchell, Alba Party

Sam Payne, Scottish Conservative and Unionist

Hazel Smith, Scottish Liberal Democrats

Ward 11: Inverurie and District (Four elected)

Neil Baillie, SNP

Marion Ewenson, Scottish Liberal Democrats

David Keating, Scottish Conservative and Unionist

Archie Peebles, SNP

Denise Rothnie, Scottish Greens

Judy Whyte, Independent

Ward 12: East Garioch (Four elected)

Drew Cullinane, Independent

Rosanna Dobbin, Scottish Labour

Jim Gifford, Independent

Dominic Lonchay, Scottish Conservative and Unionist

Trevor Mason, Scottish Liberal Democrats

Glen Reid, SNP

Ward 13: Westhill and District (Four elected)

Stephen Cameron, Independence for Scotland Party

Fatima Joji, SNP

Ron McKail, Scottish Conservative and Unionist

Colin McKay, Alba Party

Craig Miller, Scottish Conservative and Unionist

Iris Walker, Scottish Liberal Democrats

Lesley Young, Scottish Labour

Ward 14: Huntly, Strathbogie and Howe of Alford (Four elected)

Bryan Begg, Scottish Labour

Jeff Goodhall, Scottish Liberal Democrats

Lauren Knight, Scottish Conservative and Unionist

Rosie Leagas, Independent

Gwyneth Petire, SNP

Stuart Whitby, Scottish Libertarian Party

Robbie Withey, Scottish Conservative and Unionist

Ward 15: Aboyne, Upper Deeside and Donside (Three elected)

Peter Argyle, Scottish Liberal Democrats

Geva Blackett, Independent

Sarah Brown, Scottish Conservative and Unionist

Anouk Kloppert, SNP

John Lawson, Scottish Labour

Claudia Leith, Scottish Conservative and Unionist

Ward 16: Banchory and Mid-Deeside (Three elected)

Andy Brown, Scottish Labour

Yi-Pei Chou Turvey, Scottish Liberal Democrats

Graeme Craib, Scottish Family Party

Harriet Cross, Scottish Conservative and Unionist

Eileen Durno, SNP

Ann Ross, Scottish Conservative and Unionist

Ward 17: North Kincardine (Four elected)

David Aitchison, SNP

Alastair Bews, Independent

Shirley Burnett, Scottish Conservative and Unionist

Jeff Hutchison, Scottish Conservative and Unionist

Elizabeth Leslie, Scottish Family Party Colin Pike, Independent

Louise Ross, Scottish Greens

Mel Sullivan, Scottish Liberal Democrats

Catherine Victor, SNP

Ward 18: Stonehaven and Lower Deeside (Four elected)

Wendy Agnew, Scottish Conservative and Unionist

Dawn Black, SNP

Raymond Christie, Scottish Labour

Sarah Dickinson, Scottish Liberal Democrats

Dennis Robertson, SNP

Rachel Shanks, Scottish Green Party

Ma Simpson, Independent

Alan Turner, Scottish Conservative and Unionist

Ward 19: Mearns (Four elected)

Yvonne Allan, Scottish Labour

Laurie Carnie, Scottish Conservative and Unionist

George Carr, Scottish Conservative and Unionist

Alison Evison, Independent

Shona Ewen, Scottish Liberal Democrats

Douglas Fraser, Scottish Greens

Diane Laurenson, Scottish Family Party

David Neill, Independent

Kevin Stelfox, SNP

Dave Stewart, Independent

Leigh Wilson, Alba Party

Do you want to respond to this article? If so, click here to submit your thoughts and they may be published in print.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More