Home   Turriff   Article

Supermatch ploughers put through their paces

By David Porter

Contribute to support quality local journalism

Competitors from across the North-east were welcomed to New Deer for the 33rd Grampian Supermatch ploughing event which pitches the top ploughers from the Grampian Leagues against each other.

From cutting edge multi-furrow systems to vintage trailing manually operated machines, each were out to show off their skills to the judges.

Joining the mechanical competitors was champion ploughman Jim Elliott from Beamish a five-times winner of the International Class at the World Ploughing Championships and winner of over 40 British championships in the horse class.

His horses Tom and Pat showed how it was done pre-mechanisation, working the field with a Ransome RNE 7 made in 1890 but of which Jim said: "It's still doing fine for its years."

League winners

Walker cup and tankard – Conventional - M Skea.

Barclay cup and tankard – 2 Furrow Reversible Hydraulic - S Alexander.

J McPherson trophy – 2 Furrow Reversible Non Hydraulic - R Middleton.

R Mann trophy and tankard – Multi-Furrow - W McDonald.

Phil Collie shield and tankard – Vintage Mounted - H Sutherland.

McDonald shield and tankard – Vintage Trailing - D Stewart.

Ian Daniel trophy – Most Points Feering and Finish - I McDonald.

Forgieston trophy – Youngest Competitor - S McLeod.

Supermatch winners

McRae shield and glass for best plot by Conventional Plough - 1 Plot No 8, I McDonald 147 Grange; 2 Plot No 10. J Sievwright 137½ Meigle and 3 Plot No 7, M Skea 129 Inverurie.

Fairburn shield and glass for best plot by 2 Furrow Reversible Hydraulic Plough - 1 Plot No 13, D Carnegie 116 Laurencekirk and 2 Plot No 12, S Alexander 107½ Fettercairn.

George Greig cup and glass for best plot by Non-Hydraulic Reversible Plough - 1 Plot No 1, R Middleton 136 Elgin; 2 Plot No 2, G Beattie 122 Insch and 3 Plot No 5, D Clarihew 115 Elgin.

N EMachinery Ring trophy and glass for best plot by Multi-Furrow Plough - 1 Plot No 19, W McDonald 119 Mosstodloch; 2 Plot No 24, J Matheson 116 Aberchirder and 3 Plot No 20, S McLeod 98 Elgin.

Whitefield shield and glass for best plot Vintage Mounted Plough - 1 Plot No 32, A Davidson 125 Maud ; 2 Plot No 27, H Sutherland 123 Kingswells and 3 Plot No 29, N Duncan 121 Keith.

Jack Daniel shield and glass for best plot Vintage Trailing Plough - 1 Plot No 14, D Stewart 131 New Deer; 2 Plot No 17, J Donald 120 Crimond and 3 Plot No 15, N Cruickshank 113 Newmill.

S W Gauld trophy Demonstrators - 1 Sellars and 2 Bruce Farm Machinery.

Duncan Gray shield for Best Young Farmer - A Stewart, Aberchirder.

John Farquharson trophy Best Combined Feering and Finish Reversible - D Carnegie, Laurencekirk.

Burgess trophy Best Combined Feering and Finish Conventional - I McDonald, Grange.

Jim Barclay memorial trophy for Plot with Straightest Furrows - I McDonald, Grange.

Bank of Scotland shield for Overall Vintage- A Davidson, Crimond.

John McRobert trophy for the Reserve Overall - D Carnegie, Laurencekirk.

Graham Whyte trophy for the Overall - I McDonald, Grange.

This website is powered by the generosity of readers like you.
Please donate what you can afford to help us keep our communities informed.


In these testing times, your support is more important than ever. Thank you.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More