Home   Sport   Article

Track action at Grampian Kart Club

By David Porter

Easier access to your trusted, local news. Have a look at our brand new digital subscription packages!

Prokarts, light and heavy, ran on Saturday afternoon in damp conditions at Boyndie.

All other classes took place on Sunday under threatening skies but it cleared so the drivers were on slicks all day.

Feature Trophies were the GKC Bambino Trophy and the September Cup which dates back to 1969.

Amaya Thompson winner of the GKC Bambino Trophy
Amaya Thompson winner of the GKC Bambino Trophy

In the Bambino class- S and A plate champion, Amaya Thomson, took all four heats and won the feature trophy, GKC Bambino Trophy for the sum of all heats Second was George Simmons followed by Cooper Earsman.

Honda Cadet - A plate Scottish Super Series Champion, Aiden Macdonald, led the cadets away when the lights went out. Leo Massie, Thomas Jackson, Katie Donaldson, Logan Silvia-Domingo and Alex Simmons chased after him. Donaldson moved up a place to third.

The front pair had opened a gap over Donaldson by a second. Silvia Domingo stopped at the top of the circuit. Macdonald and Massie were having a ding dong battle in front with the formed crossing the line a tenth ahead. Donaldson was a comfortable third. Jackson and Daniel Dempster had a race long battle with Dempster taking fourth. Jackson was fifth and Vinnie Lewis sixth. Alex Simmons, seventh and Tylor Edminson, eighth.

Mini Max - Eihli Smith took the lead from the lights and immediately opened a gap over Aiden MacDonald and Duncan Ingram. Smith took the chequered flag with a gap of three seconds.

The green helmets of MacDonald and Ingram circulated together. Ingram had a look at the end of Boyndie straight a couple of times but was never close enough. MacDonald took second by 0.3 tenths from Ingram. Fourth was Liam Watson, fifth, Matilda Brazier followed by Owen Towler.

Junior Max - Two non-starters had reduced the field leaving Alex Hawcutt leading from Craig Stephen. Rear bumper came loose and was trailing on the ground of Stephens kart. As a result he pitted and retired. Hawcutt took victory.

Prokart Light - On Saturday afternoon in damp conditions prokarts entered the fray. Neil Halliwell took the victory and set the fastest lap of 56.7 seconds. Duncan Ross was second and Mark Knowles third.

Prokarts Heavy - The heavy category Marc Morrison won with Roy Wilson, Mike Rose and Ayrton Redfearn close behind.

Senior Max 162kg - From pole, Keiran Smart, got the early break from the pack and took the victory. Kes Watson led the chase with Jonathan Edwards, Dominic Lund and Ross Raffan. Edwards got through at Kevin’s Korner on lap 6.

Raffan got the better of Lund on lap 9. Edwards was second followed by Watson. Watson, Raffan and Lund crossed the line bumper to bumper. Sixth was Steven Bain followed by Neil Carle.

Senior Max 177kg - Robert Strachan took a comfortable victory from Matt McQueen and Adrian Brodie.

oint winners of September Cup - Murray Scott (left) and Eihli Smith.
oint winners of September Cup - Murray Scott (left) and Eihli Smith.

Senior Max Clubman - Michael Paton led the early part of the final but pitted with a mechanical problem leaving Callum MacLeod to take the victory.

Twin Engined Prokart - C plate, Murray Scott, who has quickest in the class all year, once again proved to be the class of the field and took a lights to flag win. Ralph Sturrock settled into second and at the line had a 1.3 second cusion over David Leiper. Leiper had to fend off Rik Christie race long and crossed the line 0.4 seconds ahead. Nicky Sutherland, who came through the rest of the pack, nipped Mike Rose on the last lap for fifth. Sean Webb was seventh a smidgen ahead of Lorna Rose.

KZ2 UK (Gearbox) - Scottish Series A plate Champion Rory Maclennan was on pole position for the standing start. Maclennan led up Boyndie Straight. On reaching lefthander the right rear hub and tyre parted company with the kart resulting Maclennan spinning across the grass. The hub cut across the grass and came to rest on the track where the other karts were approaching.

Thankfully everyone avoided the hub and the marshal rescued it. This occurrence left Ben McLeod in the lead from Gary Williams and Greg Moir. Moir got passes Williams at the end of Boyndie Straight but clipped a kerb with Williams regaining the position. McLeod took his first KZ victory from Williams and Moir. Ross Greig was fourth.

Gary Williams presented the trophies.

The winners in the Honda Cadet class
The winners in the Honda Cadet class

The next BDOC will be on October 10 which will be the first round of the Northern Challenge; second round will be on October 31 at Golspie.

For more information see GKC website www.grampiankartclub.com


Bambinos - 1 Amaya Thomson (Prestonpans); 2 George Simmons (Cellardyke) and 3 Cooper Earsman (Whitehills).

Honda Cadets - 1 Aiden Macdonald (Woodhead); 2 Leo Massie (Huntly) and 3 Katie Donaldson (Dufftown).

Mini Max - 1 Eihli Smith (Westhill); 2 Aiden MacDonald (Woodhead) and 3 Duncan Ingram (Banff).

Junior Max - 1 Alex Hawcutt (Aberdeen) and 2 Craig Stephen (Elgin).

Prokart (lights) - 1 Neil Halliwell (Kintore); 2 Duncan Ross (Lumphanan) and 3 Mark Knowles (Aberdeen).

Prokart (heavy) - 1 Marc Morrison (Elgin); 2 Roy Wilson (Dingwall) and 3 Michael Rose (Auchnagatt).

Senior Max - 1 Keiran Smart (Oldmeldrum); 2 Jonathan Edwards (Cornhill) and 3 Kes Watson (Oldmeldrum).

Senior Max 177 - 1 Robert Strachan (Cuminestown); 2 Matt McQueen (Brora) and 3 Adrian Brodie (Banff).

Senior Max Clubman - 1 Callum MacLeod (Banff) and 2 Michael Paton (Elgin).

Twin Engined Prokart - 1 Murray Scott (Glenrothes); 2 Ralph Sturrock (Carnoustie) and 3 Dave Leiper (Arbuthnott).

KZ2 UK (Gearbox) - 1 Ben Macleod (Evanton); 2 Gary Williams (Ellon) and 3 Greg Moir (Huntly).

Bambino Trophy – Amaya Thomson (Prestonpans).

September Cup – Eihli Smith (Westhill) / Murray Scott (Glenrothes).

Do you want to respond to this article? If so, click here to submit your thoughts and they may be published in print.

Keep up-to-date with important news from your community, and access exclusive, subscriber only content online. Read a copy of your favourite newspaper on any device via the brand new HNM App.

Learn more

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More