Home   Sport   Article

Grampian Kart Club back on track after Covid-19 interruption to stage first weekend of action on Boyndie race circuit in Banffshire

By Craig Christie

Get the Grampian Online newspaper titles sent to your inbox every week and swipe through an exact replica of the day's newspaper

IT was a first weekend of high speed thrills and spills at Grampian Kart Club on Saturday and Sunday.

Cole Richie with the Dickie Bent Cup
Cole Richie with the Dickie Bent Cup

The delayed start due to Covid-19 meant, just like last year, that the race meeting was held over two days to reduce the people on site at one time.

Saturday was cold with rain through out the afternoon while the following day was warmer and dry with an increasing southerly wind.

Aberdeen youngster Cole Ritchie won the Dickie Bent Cup, one of the featured trophies voted by the marshals to the driver who most impressed on the weekend.

The Kildonan Shield for senior drivers scoring the least points over the day went to Peterhead's Ally Smith.

Ally Smith with the Kildonan Shield
Ally Smith with the Kildonan Shield

The season started when six Bambinos took to the track over four timed heats with the fastest declared the winner, and Kelty's Frazer Anderson came out on top.

Elgin driver and pole-man Daniel MacRae took the lead in the Prokart Light and was never headed to chequered flag.

Logan Blake (Oldmeldrum) had a comfortable run for second ahead of Stuart Robertson and Linda Rose. Fifth home was Duncan George Ross and Claran Hall sixth.

In the Honda Cadet race, Daniel Dempster (Daviot) got the best start and led for the first three laps.

Woodhead's Aiden Macdonald took the lead on the fourth tour with Duncan Ingram challenging lap after lap.

Dempster challenged at the last corner on the last lap and the two touched, before MacDonald took the victory with Dempster second and Finlay Smith third.

The recovering Ingram crossed the line in fourth. Katie Donaldson and Leo Massie were the next two home.

In worsening conditions Westhill's Eihli Smith took the victory over Hopeman's Cameron Hobson in the Mini Max.

As the rain lashed the circuit, Aberchirder's Steven Duncan led from Cole Ritchie in the Junior Max race.

At mid distance Richie’s kart came alive, closing down Duncan before he got the inside line at Gate Corner and streaked away to take the victory by 3.5 seconds, as well as the Dickie Bent Cup.

Craig Steven came third and Mark Patterson fourth.

Neil Halliwell took a lights to flag victory in the Prokarts heavy while Aberdeen's Brett Cowan took the no 3 kart to second and Scott Duncan came through to third.

Phil Couper was fourth home, followed by Michael Rose and Roy Wilson.

In the Senior Max 162kg race, Cornhill's Jonathan Edwards got the best run to MTM bend from the starting lights to lead from Oldmeldrum rival Kieran Smart.

However his lead was short-lived as Smart got to the inside at Pit Corner on lap two and was never headed as he took the victory by a second from Edwards.

Dominic Lund was third for six laps until Steven Thomson took the position. Kes Watson and Steven Bain were next home.

Cuminestown's Robert Strachan took a comfortable Senior Max 177kg victory from Stewart Thomson and Robert Walker

Banff driver Adrian Brodie won the Senior Max Clubman class from Phillip Paterson and Michael Paton.

Meanwhile in the Twin Engined Prokart, pole-man Murray Scott took the early lead until carburetion problem caused him to slow.

Dave Leiper (Arbuthnott) took the lead and was not headed until the chequered flag.

Aberdeen's Rik Christie was second home followed by Ralph Sturrock, while Scott struggled on to come home in fourth.

For the first time in recent years there was a standing start for the KZ2 UK gearbox karts at Boyndie, which went down well with the drivers.

Ally Smith, from pole position, took the lead when the lights went out, while Tore rival Neil Maclennan took up the chase and closed to challenge early in the 18 lap (nine minute) final.

Smith opened the gap to 1.8 seconds at the chequered flag ahead of the two Maclennans, Neil and Rory. with Adam Barbour in fourth.

Ryan Simpson and Alex Mackay completed the top six and the positions did not change by the finishing line.

The next race meeting at Boyndie will take place on June 13, the first round of the Scottish Super Series.

The next BDOC (Boyndie Drome Open Challenge) event will be June 19 and 20.

For more information see the Grampian Kart Club website and Facebook page.

Full results.

Bambinos: 1st – Frazer Anderson (Kelty); 2nd – Jude Buchan (Mintlaw); 3rd – William Alexander (Peterhead).

Prokart (lights): 1st - Daniel MacRae (Elgin); 2nd – Logan Blake (Oldmeldrum); 3rd – Stuart Robertson (New Pitsligo)

Honda Cadets: 1st – Aiden Macdonald (Woodhead); 2nd – Daniel Dempster (Daviot); 3rd – Finlay Smith (Stuartfield)

Mini Max: 1st – Eihli Smith (Westhill); 2nd – Cameron Hobson (Hopeman).

Junior Max: 1st – Cole Ritchie (Aberdeen); 2nd – Steven Duncan (Aberchirder); 3rd – Craig Steven (Elgin)

Prokart (heavy): 1st – Neil Halliwell (Kintore); 2nd – Brett Cowan (Aberdeen); 3rd – Scott Duncan (Portsoy)

Senior Max: 1st – Keiran Smart (Oldmeldrum); 2nd – Jonathan Edwards (Cornhill); 3rd – Steven Thomson (Barthol Chapel)

Senior Max 177: 1st – Robert Strachan (Cuminestown); 2nd - Stewart Thomson (Tarves); 3rd – Robert Walker (Aberlour)

Senior Max Clubman: 1st – Adrian Brodie (Banff); 2nd – Phillip Paterson (Forgue); 3rd – Michael Paton (Elgin)

Twin Engined Prokart: 1st – Dave Leiper (Arbuthnott); 2nd – Rik Christie (Aberdeen); 3rd – Ralph Sturrock (Carnoustie)

KZ2 UK (Gearbox): 1st – Ally Smith (Peterhead); 2nd – Neil Maclennan (Tore); 3rd – Rory Maclennan (Tore)

Do you want to respond to this article? If so, click here to submit your thoughts and they may be published in print.

Get a digital copy of the Grampian Group delivered straight to your inbox every week allowing you to swipe through an exact replica of the day's newspaper - it looks just like it does in print!


This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More