Home   Sport   Article

Grampian Kart Club action at Boyndie Drome circuit sees drivers avoid torrential rain

By David Porter

Easier access to your trusted, local news. Have a look at our brand new digital subscription packages!

The Fourth meeting of the year at Boyndie was again held over two days at the weekend to reduce the number of people on site.

Both days were dry with the odd spit of rain but nothing to wet the track.

However as Sunday afternoon progressed thunder was heard and as soon as the final finished, with impeccable timing the heavens opened with torrential rain, which flooded both the track and the clubhouse.

Bambino - Newly crowned Scottish Champion at Crail last week, Amaya Thomson, was the quickest kart over the four time trial heats. Archie Cannon and Jude Buchan took the other two steps of the podium. Fourth was Lewis Kirkaldy followed by George Simmons, Nico Henderson and Cooper Earsman.

Prokart Light - Mark Knowles took the victory from Duncan Ross by 1.2 seconds. Third was Aiden Carl Hawker from Chris Hedley and Ernie Knowles.

Honda Cadet - Drama occurred on the dummy grid when Katie Donaldson failed to start. Leo Massie led the first lap from Aiden Macdonald, Finlay Smith and Daniel Dempster.

Macdonald moved into the lead on the second tour. Smith and Dempster moved ahead of Massie on the next lap. Massie retrieved third the following lap.

The race order settled down and Macdonald took the win from Smith by a tenth of a second. Dempster grabbed third on the last lap from Massie. Duncan Ingram came home ahead of Alex Simmons, Thomas Jackson. Tylor Edminson was the first novice home from Sophie Ingram and Theo Ingram.

Mini Max - With only two Mini Max karts racing the outcome was decided at the first corner when Kyle Smith spun and he was never able to catch the winner Liam Watson.

Junior Max - Craig Stephen led from the lights to take his first victory. Mark Paterson slotted into second with Cole Ritchie in third. No positional changes took place during the final and the above order was the result.

Prokarts heavy - Marc Morrison took the victory from Ewan Littlejohn and Ayton Redfearn.

Historic Gearbox - Scott Benton fluffed the standing start and David Wiseman took the lead. However Benton got the red kart flying and caught and passed Wiseman mid distance to take the victory.

Senior Max 162kg - Poleman, Keiran Smart, took the early lead from Kes Watson, Dominic Lund and Jonathan Edwards. Edwards got ahead of Lund on lap 2. Edwards chased down Watson and at the top of the circuit the two clashed resulting in Watson dropping to sixth. Edwards continued. Smart took the win from Edwards on the road.

Lund came home third ahead of Ross Raffan and Steven Bain. The fuming Watson came sixth. After race the Clerk of Course penalised Edwards for the earlier incident placing him sixth. As a result everyone moved up one place.

Senior Max 177kg - Adrain Brodie led Billy Falconer in close attendance. There seamed to be a misfire from Brodies kart and it came home to roost on lap 13. Falconer went on to take the victory.

Twin Engined Prokart - Murray Scott led from the lights and opened a considerable gap over the field to take the victory. Close race long battle between Dave Leiper and Rik Christie was resolved in favour of Christie. Nicky Sutherland, Ralph Sturrock and Alexander Sutherland completed the top six.

KZ2 UK (Gearbox) - A 10 minute delay occurred before the start of the KZ final and the rumbles of thunder was getting closer.

From a standing start, Ally Smith, led up Boyndie straight. Neil Maclennan, Gary Warren, Gary Williams and Ryan Simpson followed closely. Maclennan retired on lap 8, reportable his engine had came loose. Simpson was chasing Williams and made his move into pit corner to take second. Williams fought back immediately and regained the position at the end of Boyndie Straight.

A three way battle was taking place between Warren, Neil Anderson and Ross Greig for fourth. Smith took the chequered flag from Williams a tenth ahead of Simpson. Warren, Anderson and Greig finished a half second apart to complete the top six.

As soon as karts finished, monsoon conditions hit the circuit.

The next BDOC will be August 7 and 8.

Results -

Bambinos - 1 Amaya Thomson (Prestonpans); 2 Archie Cannon (Leven) and 3 Jude Buchan (Mintlaw).

Honda Cadets - 1 Aiden Macdonald (Woodhead); 2 Finlay Smith (Stuartfield) and 3 Daniel Dempster (Daviot).

Mini Max - 1 Liam Watson (Aberdeen) and 2 Kyle Smith (Aberdeen).

Junior Max - 1 Craig Stephen (Elgin); 2 Mark Paterson (Forgue) and 3 Cole Ritchie (Aberdeen).

Prokart (lights) - 1 Mark Knowles (Aberdeen); 2 Duncan Ross (Lumphanan) and 3 Aiden Carl Hawker (St Andrews).

Prokart (heavy) - 1 Marc Morrison (Elgin); 2 Ewan Littlejohn (Inverurie) and 3 Ayron Redfearn (Paignton).

Historic Gearbox - 1 Scott Benton (Aberdeen) and 2 David Wiseman (Aberlour).

Senior Max - 1 Keiran Smart (Oldmeldrum); 2 Dominic Lund (Cuminestown) and 3 Ross Raffan (Macduff).

Senior Max 177 - 1 Billy Falconer (Inverness) and 2 Adrian Brodie (Banff).

Senior Max Clubman - 1 Michael Paton (Elgin).

Twin Engined Prokart - 1 Murray Scott (Glenrothes); 2 Rik Christie (Aberdeen) and 3 Nicky Sutherland (Stonehaven).

KZ2 UK (Gearbox) - 1 Ally Smith (Peterhead); 2 Gary Williams (Ellon) and 3 Ryan Simpson (Macduff).

Prokart Challenge – Marc Morrison (Elgin)

Granville Grubb Memorial Trophy – Ally Smith (Peterhead)

Do you want to respond to this article? If so, click here to submit your thoughts and they may be published in print.

Keep up-to-date with important news from your community, and access exclusive, subscriber only content online. Read a copy of your favourite newspaper on any device via the brand new HNM App.

Learn more

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More