Home   News   Article

Teenagers recognised in volunteering awards

By Kirsty Brown

Contribute to support quality local journalism

Police Scotland held their Police Scotland Youth Volunteer Awards for Aberdeen and North Aberdeenshire in Ellon’s Victoria Hall.

They started off the night by looking back at the past year for both groups, celebrating PSYV Aberdeen winning National Group Of The Year 2019 and PSYV North Aberdeenshire winning the 2019 National Sports Competition.

After this, 40 young people were presented with Saltire Award certificates for volunteering.

PSYV. Picture: Phil Harman
PSYV. Picture: Phil Harman

The local awards for the North Aberdeenshire PSYV were awarded as follows:

Personal Development Award - Helena Gilbert.

Commitment Award - Aiden Wilson.

Leadership Award - Rosa Kelly.

Adult Volunteer of the Year - Janis Noble.

Youth Volunteer of the Year - Ethan Hepburn.

The local awards for the Aberdeen PSYV were awarded as follows:

Personal Development Award - Luke Burnett .

Commitment Award - Dylan Henderson.

Leadership Award - Kirsten Smith.

Adult Volunteer of the Year - Katie Hiscox.

Youth Volunteer of the Year - Paul Cowie.

All of the local winners will attend the National Award Ceremony in May, and are in with the chance of clinching a Scottish title.

PC Nicola Gillies, the group coordinator for both groups, said: "Words cannot describe again my overwhelming sense of pride I have for the Youth Volunteers and their achievements this past year.

"To give up so much of their time to selflessly volunteer in the community's alongside the Police is to be admired."

This website is powered by the generosity of readers like you.
Please donate what you can afford to help us keep our communities informed.


In these testing times, your support is more important than ever. Thank you.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More