Home   News   Article

Limousin cross comes out top at the Young Farmers overwintered cattle show and sale

By David Porter

Easier access to your trusted, local news. Have a look at our brand new digital subscription packages!

A top price of £3600 was achieved at the annual show and sale of Young Farmers’ overwintered cattle at Aberdeen and Northern Marts’ Thainstone Centre on Friday

The event, sponsored by Ledingham Chalmers LLP, attracted 51 entries and included a non-spectator show judged by Blair Duffton, Huntly.

In total, 32 heifers sold to average 372.2p per kg or £1611.29 (+107.6p per kg and £429.75) while 20 steers cashed in at 279.5p per kg or £1225.50 (+38.2p per kg and £29.73).

John Angus, head of livestock at Aberdeen and Northern Marts, said: “This year’s event attracted a tremendous show of calves from 26 competitors which included 10 novices.

“The quality of calves turned out today is a credit to the Young Farmers involved and thanks must go to all buyers and bidders including those online, and to our sponsors Ledingham Chalmers LLP.”

Winning the Calladrum Cup for the best overwintered animal was Strichen YFC member, Jenna Ross, Wardhead, Strichen.

Sale leader at £3600 was a British Blue cross heifer from Garioch YFC member, Finn Christie from Newton of Balquhain, Pitcaple, Inverurie.

This third prize February, 2020-born heifer was bred by Gavin and Jenna Greenlaw, Balgairn Farm, Ballater, and sold to Gary Bell, Haas-side, Lockerbie.

The overall champion at the Young Farmers sold to £2800
The overall champion at the Young Farmers sold to £2800

Finn also received £2800 for his overall champion, this time a March, 2020-born Limousin cross heifer bred by Smallburn Farms, Plewlands, Duffus.

She sold to Backmuir Livestock, Keith.

Next best at £2600 was a fourth prize heifer from Mark Robertson, Easter Fodderletter, Tomintoul.

Selling online to Wilson Peters, Cuilt Farmhouse, Monzie, Crieff, this March, 2020-born heifer was bred by Gary Bell, Haas-Side.

Kyle Cruikshank from Clury, Dulnain Bridge, Grantown-on-Spey, received £2500 for a February, 2020-born Limousin cross heifer bred by Gordon Cameron, Newton Cottage, Acharacle.

She sold to C Brown, Keasden Head, Clapham, Lancaster.

Duncan Munro, Invercharron, Ardgay, his second prize heifer to the champion for £2000 to Backmuir Livestock.

This was an April-born Limousin cross heifer bred by Smallburn Farms.

Selling online for £1950 to Firm of DJ Livingstone, Kirtlevale Farm, Gretna, Dumfries, was a 14-month-old British Blue cross heifer from Jayne Mitchell, Ben Craig, Aberlour.

Prize list -

Steers - 1 Hugh Fraser, Glenernie, Dunphail, Forres, £1450 (Lot 21); 2 Craig Buchan, Nether Savoch, Peterhead, £1420 (Lot 41); 3 Archie Knox, Mid Haddo, Fyvie, Turriff, £1340 (Lot 16); 4 Craig Buchan, £1320 (Lot 14) and 5 Jayne Mitchell, Ben Craig, Aberlour, £1240 (Lot 11)

Heifers - 1 and overall champion – Finn Christie, Newton of Balquhain, Inverurie, £2800 (Lot 29); 2 Duncan Munro, Invercharron, Ardgay, £2000 (Lot 33); 3 Finn Christie, £3600 (Lot 13); 4 Mark Robertson, Easter Fodderletter, Tomintoul, £2600 (Lot 32) and 5 Hannah Lorimer, Cadgerford, Kingswells, unsold (Lot 23).

Calladrum cup for best overwintered animal - 1 Jenna Ross, Strichen; 2 Ellie Newlands, Forres; 3 Finn Christie, Pitcaple; 4 Archie Know, Fyvie and 5 Hugh Fraser, Forres.

Best overwintered steer - 1 Jenna Ross; 2 Ellie Newlands; 3 Archie Knox; 4 Hugh Fraser and 5 Craig Buchan.

Best overwintered heifer - 1 Finn Christie; 2 Jenna Ross; 3 Mark Robertson; 4 Jenna Ross and 5 Kyle Cruikshank, Grantown.

Highest average daily weight gain steers - 1 Jenna Ross; 2 Ellie Newlands; 3 Hugh Fraser; 4 Craig Buchan and 5 Archie Knox.

Highest average daily weight gain heifers - 1 Jenna Ross; 2 Jenna Ross; 3 Craig Buchan; 4 Cameron Hunter, Insch and 5 Archie Knox.

Highest margin steers - 1 Jenna Ross; 2 Ellie Newlands; 3 Archie Know; 4 Duncan Munro, Ardgay and 5 Martyn Horner, Inverbervie.

Highest margin heifers - 1 Finn Christie; 2 Mark Robertson; 3 Kyle Cruickshank; 4 Jayne Mitchell, Aberlour and 5 Cameron Hunter.

Novice award - 1 Ellie Newlands; 2 Archie Knox and 3 Jayne Mitchell.

Junior award - 1 Jenna Ross; 2 Finn Christie and 3 Hugh Fraser.

Do you want to respond to this article? If so, click here to submit your thoughts and they may be published in print.

Keep up-to-date with important news from your community, and access exclusive, subscriber only content online. Read a copy of your favourite newspaper on any device via the brand new HNM App.

Learn more

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More