Home   News   Article

Election 21: Liberal Democrats announce north-east candidate list and pledge to “Put Recovery First”

By David Porter

Get the Grampian Group sent to your inbox every week and swipe through an exact replica of the day's newspaper

As nominations close today, the Scottish Liberal Democrats have announced their full list of candidates for the north-east of Scotland and are pledging their commitment to make recovery from the pandemic their number one priority as MSPs.

Candidate Rosemary Bruce
Candidate Rosemary Bruce

Today the party submitted their nomination papers for the upcoming Scottish parliament election to be held on May 6.

Rosemary Bruce, who is the lead candidate for the region and also standing for the constituency vote in Aberdeenshire West said: “People are under huge pressure from the pandemic.

"If I am elected as an MSP, I will focus on cutting mental health waits, a bounce back plan for education, creating jobs and tackling the climate emergency.

“After years of arguing about independence and Brexit, the last thing we need right now is another independence referendum.

"As an MSP for the north-east, I will put the recovery first."

Party leader Willie Rennie said:“This election is about priorities. Liberal Democrats will put recovery first.

"After the dreadful year we have endured, people want a needle-sharp focus on jobs, mental health, our NHS, schools and the climate crisis.

“With ten years of experience as leader I have won support for areas like mental health, education and nursery education.

"For me it has always been about investing in people so they can do great things.

“For the next five years the divided nationalists will put independence first, dividing the country too.

“For the next five years I will put the recovery first, cut mental health waits, help pupils bounce back, create jobs and take action on the climate.

"The SNP will prioritise another independence referendum."

North East regional candidates -

Rosemary Bruce.

John Waddell.

Ben Lawrie.

Ian Yuill.

Conrad Wood.

Isobel Davidson.

Alison Simpson.

Michael Crichton.

North East constituency candidates -

Aberdeen Donside, Isobel Davidson.

Aberdeen Central, Desmond Bouse.

Angus South, Ben Lawrie.

Aberdeen South and North Kincardine, Ian Yuill.

Aberdeenshire East, Conrad Wood.

Aberdeenshire West, Rosemary Bruce.

Angus North and Mearns, Michael Turvey.

Banffshire and Buchan Coast, Alison Simpson.

Dundee City East, Michael Crichton.

Dundee City West, Daniel Coleman.

Do you want to respond to this article? If so, click here to submit your thoughts and they may be published in print.

Get a digital copy of the Grampian Group delivered straight to your inbox every week allowing you to swipe through an exact replica of the day's newspaper - it looks just like it does in print!


This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More