Home   News   Article

Conservative's Sheila Powell named as new councillor for Mid Formartine

By David Porter

Easier access to your trusted, local news. Have a look at our brand new digital subscription packages!

Sheila Powell thanked all those who had helped in the election
Sheila Powell thanked all those who had helped in the election

Conservative and Unionist party candidate Sheila Powell has been elected as the new Aberdeenshire councillor for Mid Formartine (Ward 8).

With voting having taken place across the ward on Thursday, the appointment was confirmed following the electronic counting of votes at Inverurie Town Hall this morning.

A total of 3257 votes were cast, representing a turnout of 27.9 per cent of the electorate.

The count took place at Inverurie Town Hall
The count took place at Inverurie Town Hall

Councillor Powell’s election follows the resignation of former councillor Karen Adam in May after her election to Holyrood as MSP for Banff and Buchan Coast and brings Aberdeenshire Council back to a full complement of 70 elected members.

The count began at 10am, with results being declared by returning officer and chief executive of Aberdeenshire Council Jim Savege at 11.15am as follows-

Jeff Goodhall, Scottish Liberal Democrats 412.

Peter Kennedy, Scottish Green Party 144.

Jenny Nicol, Scottish National Party (SNP) 1205.

Sheila Powell , Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party 1480.

Returning officer Jim Savege
Returning officer Jim Savege

Commenting Jim Savege said: “Today’s appointment sees Aberdeenshire Council restored to full democratic strength.

"I’d like to thank colleagues across the council for the smooth and successful running of this by-election.”

Councillor Sheila Powell
Councillor Sheila Powell

On her election councillor Powell said: " I have a lot to learn and I am looking forward to the challenge.

"It has been a whirlwind election, and a brilliant campaign.

"I've had good support from my team who have been with me all the way.

"It has been nerve-racking at times but the result is fantastic.

"I thank all of those who voted and who came out on the day.

"It was a close vote between us and the SNP and in this ward that was always going to be the case.

"Because we have won through on the day, I think a lot of people in Aberdeenshire are looking towards the Conservatives.

"I made a promise that I would do my absolute best for the area and its residents and it doesn't matter what their political views are.

"That is what local council is all about and I intend to keep that promise and fulfil it for the people in my constituency."

She continued: "It has been a whirlwind six weeks and I am now looking forward to getting started.

"I've had tremendous support from all the local councillors over the last six weeks to leaflet with me, as well as support from MPs including Douglas Ross and David Duguid and MSP including Alexander Burnett and Liam Kerr have all helped."

Aberdeenshire Council's current political make-up is - Alba Party (three); Aligned Independent (nine); Conservative (20); Democratic Independent and Green Group (two); Independent (three); Scottish Labour (one); Scottish Liberal Democrat (13); Scottish Libertarian Party (one); Scottish National Party (17); Unaligned Independent (one).

Do you want to respond to this article? If so, click here to submit your thoughts and they may be published in print.

Keep up-to-date with important news from your community, and access exclusive, subscriber only content online. Read a copy of your favourite newspaper on any device via the brand new HNM App.

Learn more

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More