Home   News   Article

Turriff And District Pipe Band launch their first book

By Kirsty Brown

Contribute to support quality local journalism

Pre-orders are now open for Turriff and District Pipe Band's first ever collection of original compositions.

The book, titled Turra Coo Collection, features more than 60 original pieces written by both band members and friends of the band, including members of Shotts and Dykehead Caledonia Pipe Band and the current world champion band Inveraray and District Pipe Band.

Turra Coo Collection by Turriff And District Pipe Band.
Turra Coo Collection by Turriff And District Pipe Band.

The band was formed in 1923, and the Turra Coo Collection is the first time that the band has chosen to compile a collection of original compositions in all this time.

The contemporary compositions include marches, strathspeys, reels, hornpipes, jigs, slow airs and waltzes.

The book features compositions from many weel-kent names in the piping circuits, including Andrew Gray, Hamish Munro, Ross Miller, Calum Brown, Danny Hutcheson, pipe major Ben Duncan, Robert Grant, Richard Anderson, David Hunter, Owen Chalmers, Lachie Dick, Derek Marr, Hugh MacKay, David Shedden, Matthew Moir, Callum Moffat, Mark Stewart, John Whyte and William Hepburn Snr.

In light of the ongoing coronavirus pandemic, the band have decided that all profits from the sale of the book will be donated to support the NHS in Scotland.

For more information or to order your copy of The Turra Coo Collection you can visit: turriff-district-pipe-band.myshopify.com/ or visit Turriff And District Pipe Band's Facebook page.

This website is powered by the generosity of readers like you.
Please donate what you can afford to help us keep our communities informed.


In these testing times, your support is more important than ever. Thank you.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More