Home   News   Article

Aberdeenshire Architectural and Landscape Design Awards open for entries

By Lewis McBlane

Easier access to your trusted, local news. Subscribe to a digital package and support local news publishing.

THE top Aberdeenshire architecture and landscaping design competition has opened for 2023 entries.

The Portsoy Sail Loft previously won at the awards.
The Portsoy Sail Loft previously won at the awards.

Open to all communities, businesses, agents and owners, winners of the Aberdeenshire Architectural and Landscape Design Awards 2023 could come from any walk of life.

The competition, now in its 13th year, will award prizes to outstanding design achievements in the categories of Business and Community Enterprise, Conservation and Building Adaptation, Innovative Single House Design (including extensions), Landscape and Biodiversity Design and Building Communities for the Future.

Paul Macari head of service for planning and economy said: “This is the part of the process which is the most exciting, seeing the innovative projects being submitted and getting the opportunity to be amazed by the range of projects underway in the North east of Scotland.

"I encourage everyone, be that homeowners, developers, students or designers, to look at the categories."

Eligible projects for the awards include extensions, single houses, commercial properties, landscaping schemes, regeneration projects and the creation of new communities.

Submissions will be open until Friday, December 23 2022.

The first phase of judging will take place in March 2023, ahead of further judging in July 2023.

Winners will be announced at a final, grand ceremony in Aberdeenshire on October 5, 2023.

The Awards were originally established in 1997 as a means of raising the profile of good innovative design.

The Faithlie Centre in Fraserburgh previously won at the awards.
The Faithlie Centre in Fraserburgh previously won at the awards.

Taking place every two years, the awards provide a benchmark for the quality of recent development and the effectiveness of planning policies.

It also seeks to inspire excellence and innovation in architecture and landscaping across Aberdeenshire.

The judging panel will feature the chair and vice chair of Aberdeenshire Council’s infrastructure services committee, four external professional advisors and the winner of last year’s student award.

There are three tiers of award: Distinction, Highly Commended and Commended along with the Ian Shepherd Award given to the entry considered to be the best of all those submitted.

Mr Macari said: "I feel sure there is something for everyone in there.”

To submit an entry for the design awards, please click here to read the category descriptions.

Do you want to respond to this article? If so, click here to submit your thoughts and they may be published in print.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More