Home   Inverurie   Article

SNP take Gordon constituency

By David Porter

Contribute to support quality local journalism

A majority of 819 votes secured the Gordon constituency for the SNP's Richard Thomson, ousting incumbent Conservative MP Colin Clark.

With a turnout of 70.41 per cent equating to 56,054 votes, it was Mr Thomson who secured 23,885 ahead of Mr Clark on 23,066 a swing of +6.9 per cent in the SNP's favour.

James Oates for the Liberal Democrats took 5913 with Labour's Heather Herbert securing 3052 votes.

Commenting Mr Thomson said: "I would like to thank my fellow candidates for what has been a good campaign which has given the key issues a welcome airing in the right spirit.

"I would like to especially thank Colin who has never been anything other than thoroughly courteous at all times and to thank him for the service he has given the people of Gordon in the last parliament.

"I most of all want to thank the people of Gordon for placing their trust in myself and teh SNP and I undertake to represent everyone without favour.

He continued: "This has been an election which has been held in some quite extraordinary times and given the picture which is emerged over the course of the last few hours that the next few years are going to be turbulent ones."

General Election 2017 results saw a Conservative gain from the SNP

Conservative - Colin Clark, 21,861

Scottish National Party - Alex Salmond, 19,254.

Labour - Kirsten Muat. 6340.

Liberal Democrat - David Evans, 6230.

General Election 2015 results saw an SNP gain from Liberal Democrats

Scottish National Party - Alex Salmond, 27,717.

Liberal Democrat - Christine Jardine, 19,030.

Conservative - Colin Clark, 6807.

Labour - Braden Davy, 3441.

UKIP - Emily Santos, 1166.

This website is powered by the generosity of readers like you.
Please donate what you can afford to help us keep our communities informed.


In these testing times, your support is more important than ever. Thank you.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More