Home   Banff   Article

Conservatives retain Banff and Buchan

By David Porter

Contribute to support quality local journalism

Conservative MP David Duguid has been returned as MP for Banff and Buchan with 21,182 votes, a majority of 4118.

This equated to some 50.1 per cent of the overall vote share and an increase of +1.8 per cent on the 2017 election.

The Scottish National Party's Paul Robertson had 17,064 votes, Liberal Democrat, Alison Smith 2280 and Labour's Brian Balcombe took 1734 votes.

A total of 42,356 votes were cast in the constituency, a turn out of 63.4 per cent.

Thanking those who had been involved in his campaign, Mr Duguid said: " I have a fanstastic team behind me tonight and I would like to thanks them all.

"One person in particular, for the last two and a half years, my wife Rose.

"It has been a great campaign and I would also like to thank all of my fellow candidates, Brian, Paul and Alison for a good natured election.

"I am looking forward to getting back to serve all the people of Banff and Buchan."

In the General Election of 2017 the seat was a Conservative gain from SNP.

Conservative - David Duguid, 19,976

Scottish National Party - Eilidh Whiteford, 16,283

Labour - Caitlin Stott, 3936

Liberal Democrat - Galen Milne, 1448

In the General Election of 2015 the seat was an SNP hold.

Scottish National Party - Eilidh Whiteford, 27,487

Conservative - Alex Johnstone, 13,148

Labour - Sumon Hoque, 2647

Liberal Democrat - David Evans, 2347

This website is powered by the generosity of readers like you.
Please donate what you can afford to help us keep our communities informed.


In these testing times, your support is more important than ever. Thank you.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More